The Bear Chef

Cooking and other Food Stuff

Porter and Sprout sourdough

After the success with Terence the fourth I decided to adventure a bit. I have some sprouts leftover from Xmas and have been having an ongoing debate about how sprouts are actually tasty if cooked right. An argument we’ve a heard before and one which very few people seem to be convinced by!

I searched for recipes and found a recipe for sprout bread. Unusual but in my head it seemed to make sense and I wanted to explore a bit more.

I also saw this on of the baking blogs I read:

Beer, Fennel and Rosemary Bread

I had some porter I made last year and thought I’d use this recipe with porter, the addition of sprouts and a switch from fennel to caraway.

I’m getting my sponge / dough cycle down now – using the fridge to split the morning stage into two to bake in the evening. Tuesday night = sponge / Wednesday morning = mix and knead / Wednesday night = shape and bake.

The bread is wonderful although I had to reduce the baking time significantly as my loaf was a bit flat.

Even the sprout-doubters were semi-won over…what to do next with sprouts to convince them?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

